Fiscal Service Aids Savings Bonds Owners in the South Affected by Severe Storms and Tornadoes; One-year minimum holding period waived


May 5, 2014

Washington, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of the Treasury, Bureau of the Fiscal Service, announced today that it would expedite replacement of lost or destroyed paper U.S. Savings Bonds, and waive the normal one-year minimum holding period for savings bonds to assist storm survivors in Florida, and several additional counties in Alabama, Mississippi, and Arkansas.

A TreasuryDirect account holder in, or evacuated from, one of the affected counties can request a waiver of the minimum one-year holding period for savings bonds by sending an e-mail from within their account, briefly explaining the circumstances.  Local financial institutions are permitted to redeem paper savings bonds that are less than one-year old for bond owners affected by the disaster. Many financial institutions serve as paying agents for savings bonds.

If paper bonds were lost or destroyed, bond owners can complete a downloadable form — PD F-1048 — available on Fiscal Service's website, Forms also can be obtained by calling the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Customer Service Department at (800) 553-2663. Bond owners should include as much information as possible about the lost bonds on the form. Claim applications should be signed and signatures should be certified as indicated in the form's instructions. Completed forms can be mailed to the Department of the Treasury, Bureau of the Fiscal Service, P.O. Box 7012, Parkersburg, WV 26106-7012. To help expedite the processing of claims, write the word "DISASTER" on the front of the envelope.

In Florida, counties in the disaster declaration include Escambia and Santa Rosa.  In Alabama, the counties now include Baldwin, Blount, Dekalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa.  In Mississippi, the counties are Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne, and Winston.  In Arkansas, the counties of Pulaski, Randolph, and White were added to Faulkner.

For an updated list of areas affected, visit FEMA's website at