Skip Navigation

Student Artists to be Honored by Treasury May 16


May 16, 1996

Treasury's Bureau of the Public Debt today announced that three student artists will be honored Thursday, May 16, in Treasury Department ceremonies. The three, two sixth graders and one fifth grader, from Iowa, New Jersey, and Hawaii are the winners of the annual U.S. Savings Bonds National Student Poster Contest for students in grades 4 though 6.

The first place winner, Dawn Larson, a sixth-grader from Charter Oak - Ute Community School, Ute, Iowa, will receive a $5,000 U.S. Savings Bond and her poster will be used to promote the sale of bonds nationwide in 1997.

“U.S. Savings Bonds - A Great Way To Save,” the theme of this year's poster contest, also will be the 1997 Savings Bonds Campaign slogan.

The second and third place winners, Gavin Gewecke, a fifth-grader at St. Joseph Regional School, Newton, New Jersey, and Lee Anne Mathews, a sixth-grader at Stevenson Intermediate School, Honolulu, Hawaii, will receive $2,000 and $1000 in bonds, respectively. Their work will appear on special exhibits to be displayed in airports around the country.

Treasurer of the United States Mary Ellen Withrow will entertain the winners with a luncheon and will present the awards at a 1 p.m. ceremony in the Cash Room of the Main Treasury Building.

Joseph T. Gorman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of TRW Inc., Cleveland, Ohio, said the contest “teaches children to save for the future and helps enhance the value of a long-term savings plan to help them reach future goals.” Mr. Gorman chaired the 1995 U.S. Savings Bond Volunteer Committee.

State winners were selected earlier this year. First-place entries from each State and the District of Columbia then were submitted to a panel of judges for selection of the national winners.

The panel of judges included: Harry Rand, Senior Curator of Painting and Sculpture, National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution; Dr. Leslie King-Hammond, Dean of Graduate Studies, Maryland Institute, College of Art; Ms. Toni McMahon, President and CEO, Arts Council of Fairfax County, and Roger Tomhave, Art Curriculum Specialist, Fairfax County Public Schools.

The three winners will be flown to Washington for the awards ceremony. They will tour the city and visit their congressional representatives. First-place posters from each State and the District of Columbia will be displayed at the Treasury's Bureau of Engraving and Printing in Washington during the summer.