Skip Navigation

Bureau Of The Public Debt Aids Savings Bonds Owners Ravaged By Severe Weather in Kansas, Illinois, Missouri and Tennessee


May 9, 2003

The Bureau of Public Debt took action to assist victims ravaged by storms in several areas including Madison County, Tennessee and Alexander, Massac, Pope and Pulaski Counties in Illinois by expediting the replacement or payment of United States Savings Bonds for owners in those areas. Also, listed below are the counties affected by storms in Kansas and Missouri. The emergency procedures are effective immediately for paying agents and owners in the areas listed and are in effect the through the end of June 2003.

The counties in Kansas are: Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte. For Missouri, they are: Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Camden, Cass, Cedar, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Ray, Saline, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, and Webster Counties. Should additional counties be declared disaster areas the emergency procedures for savings bonds owners will go into effect.

Public Debt's action waives the normal minimum holding period for Series EE and Series I savings bonds presented to authorized paying agents for redemption by residents of the affected areas. Most financial institutions serve as paying agents for savings bonds.

The replacement of bonds lost or destroyed will also be expedited by Public Debt. Bond owners should complete form PDF-1048, available at most financial institutions or by writing the Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank's Savings Bond Customer Service Department, 825 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, Missouri 64198; phone (816) 881-2000. This form can also be downloaded from Public Debt's website at: Bond owners should include as much information as possible about the lost bonds on the form. This information should include how the bonds were inscribed, social security number, approximate dates of issue, bond denominations and serial numbers if available. The completed form must be certified by a notary public or an officer of a financial institution. Completed forms should be forwarded to Public Debt's Office of Investor Services, 200 Third St., Parkersburg, West Virginia 26106-1328. Bond owners should write the word “DISASTER” on the front of their envelopes, to help expedite the processing of claims.