Skip Navigation

Public Debt Aids Savings Bond Owners in States Affected by Recent Tornadoes


March 13, 2011

The Bureau of the Public Debt, announced it would expedite replacement of lost or destroyed paper U.S. Savings Bonds, and waive the normal one-year minimum holding period for savings bonds to assist victims affected by severe storms in Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

The action takes effect immediately and permits authorized paying agents to redeem Series EE and I savings bonds that are less than one-year old. Most financial institutions serve as paying agents for savings bonds. The one-year holding period for electronic savings bonds held in TreasuryDirect accounts also is waived for owners in the affected areas. Residents in the affected areas will be allowed to redeem these savings bonds through April 2012.

A TreasuryDirect account holder in one of the affected counties who needs a waiver of the one-year holding period in order to redeem electronic savings bonds can send an e-mail from within the account. The e-mail should briefly explain that the account holder is in an area affected by the disaster and needs a waiver of the holding period.

If paper bonds were lost or destroyed, bond owners can complete a downloadable form - FS Form 1048 - available on Fiscal Service's website, Forms also can be obtained by calling the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Customer Service Department at (844)-284-2676. Bond owners should include as much information as possible about the lost bonds on the form. Claim applications should be signed and signatures should be certified as indicated in the form's instructions. Completed forms can be mailed to the Department of the Treasury, Bureau of the Public Debt, P.O. Box 7012, Parkersburg, WV 26106-7012. To help expedite the processing of claims, write the word "DISASTER" on the front of the envelope.

The counties affected in these states:


Clark County, Jefferson County, Ripley County, Scott County, Warrick County, and Washington County


Bath County, Campbell County, Carroll County, Grant County, Grayson County, Johnson County, Kenton County, Larue County, Laurel County, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Martin County, Menifee County, Montgomery County, Morgan County, Ohio County, Pendleton County, Rowan County, Russell County, Trimble County, and Wolfe County.


Bradley County, Claiborne County, Cumberland County, DeKalb County, Hamilton County, Jackson County, McMinn County, Monroe County, Overton County, and Polk County.

West Virginia

Lincoln County, Marion County, and Wayne County.

For a list of the most recent counties affected, visit FEMA's website at